Skip to Content

Inclusive Growth

The growth of San Diego’s innovation economy has made the region better educated and more prosperous than most of its peers. However, this economic transformation presents new challenges for future growth. If unaddressed, San Diego will no longer be an attractive place to live and do business.

Key facts:

For the region to remain competitive, proactive measures to promote economic inclusion must be taken. Throughout 2018, EDC and its Steering Committee will develop measurable targets and actionable recommendations that together create a platform for inclusive economic growth. 

For more information on the steering committee or initiative, please contact Kate Gallagher at and follow along at #inclusiveSD.

Initiative goals:

Research Releases

Steering Committee

  • Co-Chair Janice Brown, Brown Law Group
  • Co-Chair Jim Waring, Cleantech San Diego
  • Bill Anderson, AECOM
  • Sam Attisha, Cox Communications
  • Kim Becker, San Diego Regional Airport Authority 
  • Erik Caldwell, City of San Diego
  • Charisse Charters, ResMed
  • Don Chick, Central San Diego Black Chamber of Commerce
  • Sunny Cooke, MiraCosta Community College
  • Cynthia Curiel, Northrop Grumman Corp.
  • Dino D'Auria, Silvergate Bank
  • Mark Field, Thermo Fisher Scientific
  • Jane Finley, Kaiser Permanente 
  • Melissa Floca, UC San Diego
  • Gregory Geisen, SPAWAR
  • Thom Harpole, San Diego State University
  • Chanelle Hawken, Cox Communications 
  • Lisette Islas, The MAAC Project
  • Nancy Jamison, San Diego Grantmakers


  • Rudy Johnson, Neighborhood House Association
  • Carol Kim, San Diego County Building Trades Council
  • Jennifer LeSar, LeSar Associates
  • Keith Maddox, San Diego & Imperial Labor Council
  • Bruce Mayberry, SDG&E
  • Judy McDonald, Parker Foundation
  • Kathlyn Mead, San Diego Foundation
  • John Mendez, Mendez Strategy Group 
  • Mark Nelson, Sempra Energy
  • Julian Parra, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Patricia Prado-Olmos, CSU San Marcos
  • Rip Rippetoe, San Diego Convention Center
  • Matt Sager, Solar Turbines
  • Jim Schmid, Chelsea Investment Corporation
  • Peter Siedler, San Diego Padres
  • Pat Sullivan, SPAWAR
  • Sherrie Lyn Thompson, Higgs Fletcher & Mack 
  • Mary Walshok, UC San Diego Extension

Initiative Underwriters